If you recently started reading about vegetarian diets, you have probably read all sorts of strange vegetarian terms and categories like "vegan," "ovo-lacto vegetarian," and "semi-vegetarian." You probably wondered what the big deal was. After all, what is so conceptually tough about not eating meat?

And you were right!

The distinctions between these sub-categories of vegetarian are actually small, but each is very important to members who belong to the groups. For them, these distinctions aren't arbitrary lines; they are important dietary or ethical decisions.

Let's take a look at some of these groups:

VEGETARIAN:

Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.

SEMI-VEGETARIAN:

The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is a vegetarian who consumes dairy products, eggs, chicken, and fish, but does not consume other animal flesh.

OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN:

Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.

OVO-VEGETARIAN:

Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.

LACTO-VEGETARIAN:

Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.

VEGAN:

Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.

Important:Take some time to figure out for yourself, what group you will belong to when you become a vegetarian. You will want to consider both dietary and ethical reasons for choosing this lifestyle.

 

Views: 22786

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I started out vegetarian then became vegan, I don't wear any animals or anything like that, but recently I started eating dairy which i am not proud of. I would like to go back to not eating dairy however I am willing to go back to eating eggs but only from my partners dads hens and honey but only organic. So I'm no longer vegan but I wish to get back to a mostly vegan diet. I have not ever touch meat including any seafood, nothing, and I never will again. I do not see animals as food anymore.

who said that vegan means raw? that is called a raw vegan as far as I know. cooking or baking is fine for vegans as far as I know and sugar is also fine if it is vegan sugar.

what culture on earth do you come from??? veganism is not something that depends on culture at all. it is a word in the dictionary.

vegan means someone who does not eat meat or any other animal products or by-products. that includes HONEY!!! sorry, but you are really mistaken. it might be that some vegans eat honey, but technically, that is not part of a vegan diet. those are vegans who are making exceptions because they are not strict. unless there is a way to get the honey without harming the bees, it cannot be construed as part of a vegan diet, even if its raw.

raw vegans are vegans who don't eat cooked food. its not really worth fighting about, but I think you should learn more about veganism before making crazy claims. it is not really a matter of opinion.

there are of course vegans who choose to super impose ethics on the word, but technically, the word is merely dietary. anything beyond that, you have to add more words...raw vegan, ethical vegan, etc.

i am only true vegetable - plant green cell -  eater - Plantenist

RSS

Support Us

Events

© 2020   Created by Xiao Kang.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service