Connect with vegetarian and vegan friends from all over the world.
I try and stay away from products containing whey, but I've noticed some products that contain whey power, carotenes, etc also say "suitable for vegetarians" on the packaging.
After a bit of research I found out that some of these things can come from plants instead of animals. How am I supposed to tell the difference?
And if something can come from plants, why choose to get it from animals?
If anyone can help me with this, it's you guys :)
You can search a site like PETA, which offers a list of these types of products and which are vegan. It's hard to say- use your best judgement- because for some, pescetarians are included in the definition of vegetarians, and so fish oil etc. I've seen that classified as "vegetarian".
For the animal source over plant source bit- I think it's another way for the meat industry to make money, like with gelatin. They try and use every single part of the animal for profit, down to their bones.