As many people are aware, a vegetarian diet is healthy. But it would be a mistake to think that the health benefits of a vegetarian diet have only been recently discovered. There are certainly many modern medical and scientific reports that show so clearly the links between meat-centered diets and such implacable killers as cancer and heart disease. It’s valuable research, and well worth studying. But long, long ago, the Bhagavad-gita identified meat, fish, and eggs as foods harmful to bodily well-being.

According to the Gita, such foods “cause distress, misery, and disease.” The Gita recommends food in the mode of goodness vegetarian foods: “Foods dear to those in the mode of goodness increase the duration of life, purify one’s existence, and give strength, health, happiness, and satisfaction.” The Gita says that such foods are “wholesome and pleasing to the heart.” [Reference: Bhagavad Gita 17.8] What more could one ask?

At the same time, Gita says, “Foods that are too bitter, too sour, salty, hot, pungent, dry and burning are dear to those in the mode of passion. Such foods cause distress, misery and disease.” [Reference: Bhagavad Gita 17.9]

And, it goes on saying, “Food prepared more than three hours before being eaten, food that is tasteless, decomposed and putrid, and food consisting of remnants and untouchable things is dear to those in the mode of darkness.” [Reference: Bhagavad Gita 17.10]

Views: 3155

Comment by Fruitfly on August 10, 2012 at 11:22am

mostly people who follow the Gita are vegetarian, but I have never heard that the Gita specifically bans eggs.  Meat and fish imply that you would have to kill the animal and then cook it, and that food is salty in taste because it is flesh, but eggs?  I think that might be interpreted by the various sects that advocate for an eggless diet and including it in pure vegetarian diet.

however in Puri and parts of Bengal, I heard that devotees of Krishna eat fish.

Comment by Rajesh Reddy Cool Cracker on August 13, 2012 at 4:46am

Yeah parts of bengal and puri eats fish due to lack of knowledge wat Gita says they just interpret and thinks them self they are devotees of krishna but they are not... 

Comment by Fruitfly on August 21, 2012 at 2:23am

what would you define as a devotee of krishna?  someone who worships krishna or someone who watches their diet closely?  I find it hard to believe that a person cannot be devoted to God regardless of their diet.  If krishna devotees are not supposed to eat certain foods, it sounds like just one sect of the larger community.  which is fine, but just my point was that I don't see where in Gita that fish and eggs are specifically even mentioned.

Comment by Rajesh Reddy Cool Cracker on September 13, 2012 at 2:04am

(references specially from Bhagwat Geeta) -:

Actually, whenever we eat veg. food or even breath, we eat some species which cann’t be seen by naked eyes like some bacteria etc. So in any case, whether we eat veg or non-veg, we commit sin.

Now to avoid this sinful activity, Lord Krishna says in Bhagwat Gita (3.13) that if whatever we eat is first offered to Lord Krishna and then eaten, that makes us free from sin.

But that does not mean that we can eat meat also after offering to Lord Krishna. Lord Krishna further explains in chapter 9 (Verse 26, 27) that “If one offers Me with love and devotion a leaf, a flower, fruit or water, I will accept it.” Which very well explains the kind of taste Lord Krishna have

Lord Further says in chapter 17 (Verses – 8, 9, 10) that People who are firmly situated in God Consciousness (Mode of Goodness) eat sweet, juicy, fattening and palatable stuff.
Foods that are too bitter, too sour, salty, pungent, dry and hot, are liked by people in the modes of passion.

Comment by Fruitfly on September 13, 2012 at 6:08pm

not eating eggs and fish seems like a local observance, not scriptural.  If mode of goodness equals eating fattening foods, and palable foods, and juicy, etc, eggs and fish can be prepared that way.  I am vegetarian, but I just think relying on that verse is not enough since it does not explain much about which foods are forbidden.  It is vague at best. Perhaps it was left up to interpretation for a reason.  I also still think that a meat eater can develop devotion to God.  To only allow veggies into the fold, seems to be to be again,a local standard then scriptural.

Comment by Rajesh Reddy Cool Cracker on September 13, 2012 at 6:18pm

okay leave it as a interpretation and thanks for your reply sir 

Comment

You need to be a member of Vegetarian Friend to add comments!

Join Vegetarian Friend

Support Us

Events

© 2019   Created by Xiao Kang.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service